RAMON'S THESIS PROJECT

Icon

Just another WordPress.com weblog

RESEARCH v2

GOAL:

  • Gathering information on how the whole grid system/typeface became about.
  • Make a typeface  legibility while on a constraint.

DIRECTION:

In order to finish my typeface in a certain way, I would need to look at other grid typefaces to analyze and then develop a way to execute my type. Just to see how other people solved a particular problem in the letters.

REFERENCE:

Primary:

  1. Wim Crouwel Alphabet (book)
  2. Lettering and Type (book)

Secondary:

  1. Matrix
    http://www.emigre.com/EFfeature.php?di=105
  2. Wim Crouwel
    http://www.iconofgraphics.com/Wim-Crouwel/
  3. Albrecht Durer
    http://www.alphabetandletter.com/goudy/intro.html

PROTOTYPE:

I won’t have any physical prototypes, but I need to experiment on a which software I would use to make my typeface. Plus which one would be user-friendly.

TIME LINE:

Week 1: Research information on grid typeface using my Primary and Secondary resources.

Week 2: Find a type program that works for me. Make a few letters to see how long it takes me and how easy is to use. Export sample and test in a computer. Work on my actual thesis typeface by completing the letters and numbers.

Week 3: Finish one weight set and start another weight using the same matrix.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Pages

